Speak up!

Image

As a kid, I thought my mom the most embarrassing person hands down, second only to my dad and that’s because he would fart in public.

He would walk up a step, pause and shake his leg like something was going to fall out of his pant leg and out would come the loudest fart. My mom would turn around embarrassed and my sister and I would fall over in belly aching laughter. I swear sometime I think he wished we were boys. My dad was and still is one of the funniest people I know, but in a crude humor sort of way. No wondering where I get that from.

My mom was the embarrassing one, or so I thought at the time. She was the one that spoke up all the time and I would cringe and slump into that “trying to be a wallflower stance but can’t because my mother is telling you off” stance. And she would tell anyone off, politely. It could be the cashier who didn’t put the money in her hand and threw the change on the counter, the mechanic who tried to rip her off at the garage, or a teacher who said something in a way they shouldn’t have.

Back then I just thought she was a fly off at the handle kinda gal, but now I realize, my mom was our advocate. All parents become advocates at one time or another. You have to be an advocate when you need to, don’t want to and probably shouldn’t but for the sake of your kid, you put it all out there.

Advocating is saying all those things out loud, you often think in your head, with a filter, of course. It’s trying to keep your calm and trying even harder to stick to your guns, especially when people tell you “that’s not what they do here”, “he’s not eligible for that”, and “that’s just not possible. I think it is especially difficult to advocate for people that can’t tell you what is going on or how they feel, whether you are advocating for an adult or a child.

My crash course in advocating came this past fall when my father was in the hospital. I have never been a soft spoke or quiet person by any means, my husband will confirm, but advocating is a completely different ball game. It’s not as easy as yelling a couple abrasive words to the driver who won’t give you 20 seconds to cross the street, even though you are pushing a stroller, carrying one child and have another attached to your leg, holding on as you were the tree trunk of like. Advocating is completely different.

There is always a trigger that sets it off and on this day, my voice found it’s trigger. My dad has congestive heart failure, liver failure and kidney failure, we found out through his past almost two month stint in the hospital. Luckily it was in one of the best hospitals in the nation, where the doctors and nurses worked effortlessly to save his life. But before he was transferred there, it was not such a great situation. He had had an incident at home, got up in a state of mass confusion and dementia and hit his head on the night stand. My mother found him kneeling near the night stand, blood everywhere. By the time they got him to the hospital, he was unable to speak, couldn’t say his name, didn’t know where he was and was slurring his words. They claimed he had a stroke, but something wasn’t quite right.

Nothing added up.

Not that I also have an inner nurse voice, but I have a husband who is a “male nurse” and great at his job. When I went to see him the first day, he was out of it. They explained this was normal for a stroke victim. The second day, he was the same. I think he knew I was there because he moved his head in my direction when I spoke but for the most part, he didn’t open his eyes and my very talkative dad was completely silent. Something didn’t seem right.

When I went to talk to the doctor, whom my mom explained was “nice”, I found my trigger. When I asked what was going on with my dad, the doctor explained the belief is he had a stroke, there is no telling how long he could be like this, and (*trigger time*) she continued, “The only thing different that could be done was we could have given him a daily dose of aspirin”. Yes, here is my dad laying there helpless, completely out of it and this doctor was ready to give him ASPRIN.

As I walked away, I wasn’t even sure I heard that right. Even the nurses, standing a couple feet away, looked and silently about shrieked in horror. I was not about to let my dad, lay in a hospital where the doctor in charge thinks the only thing they could have done different was give him aspirin. To make a very long story short, a couple very demanding and persistent phone calls later, my dad was transferred to another hospital. He didn’t have a stroke after all, it was the toxins in his failing liver. Without the hospital we transferred him to, we would have lost my dad without a doubt. I not only learned how to navigate the system and the political, insurance and medical jargon that comes with it, I learned what it was like to speak up for someone that cannot speak up for themselves.

I learned to put in to action, all the things my parents had taught me over the years.  My parents used to tell my sister and I constantly, you can stand there and let injustice happen, whatever it may be, you must speak up. I guess they taught us well. I also learned to speak up quick when we learned our boys had Autism. It’s so easy for them to be misunderstood.

You’ve got the stares and comments. Trigger.

The School. Trigger.

The people that try to tell you what can’t be done, what won’t be done and how they think they know your sons better than you. Trigger. Trigger. Trigger.

Advocating and speaking up, never comes with a prize. It always comes with a price.

A price you have to be willing to pay for your children. It’s tiring. It’s hard and even though I know it has to be done, I’m always still hesitant when I do it, but I do it. I organize my thoughts, sometimes. Speak with conviction, I try to. But speak up, always. I may not always be right, but I will be the first to speak up about something that doesn’t feel right.

My mom had a mouth, opinions and she would used them both frequently.  My mom wanted her kids to know, when something isn’t right, SPEAK UP. She also wanted us to know, she had our backs.

And now, 39 years later, I get it, I finally get it.

3 thoughts on “Speak up!

  1. “Advocating and speaking up, never comes with a prize. It always comes with a price.” I love this! I was lucky enough to have a parent (in my case it was my father) who always spoke up if something wasn’t right. I too was totally embarrassed as a kid, but I find myself turning into him everyday. I am thankful that I had a wonderful roll model to teach me the respectful way to speak up and stand up. It sounds like you did too and your advocacy saved a life!

    • It’s great to have good examples! Sounds like you had an awesome dad! My Dad spoke up alot as well, he just did it more selectively and quietly than my mom 🙂 Like you, i still call them today for advice, maybe a little to often:) . I never understood it while I was younger, with either of them and now I understand. I guess you could say its that “ah ha” moment:)

  2. Amen! My parents never advocated for us. I had to learn when my oldest was in the NICU, and in the years that followed. That, however, was only practice for advocating for my youngest (ASD). Now, there’s no stopping me, although it is work, it is hard, and sometimes is very uncomfortable.
    Good on ya for doing what needed to be done.

Leave a Reply

